Sep 18, 2019  
2012-2013 Catalog 
    
2012-2013 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Cost



Tuition and Fixed Fees

The following tuition rates will be charged each semester. These rates apply to courses taken for credit and for audit. TUITION AND ALL FEES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE IF NECESSARY TO COMPLY WITH NEW STATE LAWS AND BOARD POLICY.

In-District (Howard County Residents)
$57 per semester hour with a minimum base amount of $150. Qualified Texas Deaf residents shall be exempt from tuition fees beginning with the fall semester of 1995 as documented.

Out-of-District (Texas Residents)
$89 per semester hour with a base amount of $180. In order to establish in-district residency, a student must have been a resident of Texas for twelve consecutive months immediately prior to enrollment, including six months as a resident in Howard County. Moving into the Howard County Junior College District for the specific purpose of enrolling in Howard College or SWCID does not establish legal residence in the district.

Non-Resident (Out of State and International)
Howard College - $138 per semester hour with a base amount of $200
SWCID - $401 per semester hour, no base, based on State law 131.005.

Non-State Funded Course Fee
A charge of $70 per credit hour will be added to the tuition charged for courses that do not qualify for state funding, including but not limited to the following conditions:

  1. A student’s third attempt or more at the same course.
  2. A student taking a developmental course who has exceeded 27 semester credit hours of developmental course work.
  3. Any other circumstances for which state funding is not received.

Building Charge (All Students)
$70 per semester

Student Services Fee (All Students)
$3 per semester hour beginning at 6 hours, up to and including 12 hours.

Senior Citizens
If space is available at the close of regular registration, students age 65 and older may enroll for up to six hours of courses each semester and/or summer term without payment of tuition. All fees will be charged. If space is available at the close of regular registration, students age 65 and older may audit any course(s) at no charge. This exemption will only be honored upon request in person. Registration must be completed on site each registration period. This exemption does not apply to programs with limited enrollment and/or competitive selection.

Cost Reduction

  1. Certain fees or other costs may be reduced or waived by the college President or designee for students who are enrolled in classes taken in facilities provided for the purpose of instruction when these locations are located in the college’s service area or have been approved by the Board of Trustees.
  2. Certain costs are reduced for concurrently enrolled high school students and for inmates at correctional facilities enrolled in academic courses. The base tuition for high school students enrolled in academic transfer courses is $50 for in-district, $100 for out-of-district, and $140 for non-resident students. Hourly tuition is $38 for in-district, $50 for out-of-district and $72 for non-resident. Fees are waived.
  3. The tuition rate for high school students concurrently enrolled in Workforce Education courses is $0. Students may be responsible for certain course or program costs such as insurance, licensure requirements, testing, certification, equipment, etc.

Laboratory Fees

 All biology, chemistry, geology, and physics courses with lab sections  20.00
 Agriculture AGRI 1311 , AGRI 1407 , AGRI 1413 , 1415,  AGRI 1419 , AGRI 2321 , AGRI 2322   8.00
 Agriculture AGRI 2301 , AGRI 2303   15.00
 Agriculture AGRI 1309   20.00
 ARTS 2346 , ARTS 2347   24.00
 ARTS 1311 , ARTS 1312 , ARTS 1313 , ARTS 1316 , ARTS 1317 , ARTS 2316 , ARTS 2317 , ARTS 2323 , ARTS 2324 , ARTS 2326 , ARTS 2327 , ARTS 2333 , ARTS 2336 , 2351, 2352, ARTS 2366 , ARTS 2367   10.00
 AUMT, all courses  20.00
 Building Construction Technology, all courses  20.00
 Business POFT 1127   15.00
 Business: POFI 2301 , POFI 2331 , POFI 2340 ; POFL 1303, 2301; POFT 1227 , POFT 1309 , POFT 1349 , POFT 2301 , POFT 2433   20.00
 Child Development TECA 1303 , TECA 1311 , TECA 1318   15.00
 Communication COMM 1316 , COMM 1317   20.00
 Computer and Information Sciences, all courses  20.00
 Computer and Information Systems, all courses  20.00
 Cosmetology, all courses  20.00
 Criminal Justice CJLE 2522   20.00
 Dental Hygiene labs, per hour  15.00
 Dental Laboratory Technology, all courses except DLBT 1291 , DLBT 1317   20.00
 Drafting, all courses except DFTG 2386 .  20.00
 Electronics CETT 1409   20.00
 Emergency Medical Services EMSP 1355 , EMSP 1356 , EMSP 1438 , EMSP 1501 , EMSP 2248 , EMSP 2330 , EMSP 2434 , EMSP 2444   20.00
 Engineering ENGR 1304  20.00
 Foreign Language (all laboratory courses)  12.00
 Graphic Arts Technology, all courses  20.00
 Health Information Technology/ HITT 1249 , HITT 1253 , HITT 1255 , HITT 1301 , HITT 1311 , HITT 1345 , HITT 1441 , HITT 2239 , HITT 2343 , HITT 2435 , POFM 1309   20.00
 Industrial Production Technology, all courses with labs CETT, ELPT, ENTC, HYDR, INMT, INTC, OSHT, PTAC , HART  20.00
 Interpreter Training SLNG 1140 , SLNG 1211 , SLNG 1215 , 1304, 1305, 1344, 1345, SLNG 2302 , SLNG 2331 , SGNL 1301 , SGNL 1302 , SGNL 2301 , SGNL 2302   20.00
 Medical Assistant, all courses with labs  20.00
 Nursing RNSG 2307   10.00
 Nursing RNSG 1115 , RNSG 1309 , RNSG 2213 , RNSG 2308 , RNSG 2201   15.00
 Nursing RNSG 1343 , RNSG 2432   24.00
 Paraprofessional in Deaf Education, SLNG 1318, CDEC 1313 , CDEC 2286 , CDEC 2287   20.00
 Physical Education 2301  24.00
 Preparatory courses, one hour  10.00
 Preparatory courses, three hour  20.00
 Radiologic Technology RADR 1213 , RADR 1309 , RADR 1311 , RADR 2301 , RADR 2305 , RADR 2309 , RADR 2331 , RADR 2335   22.00
 Respiratory Care RSPT 1101 , RSPT 1213 , RSPT 1329 , RSPT 1331 , RSPT 1335 , RSPT 2230 , RSPT 2314   24.00
 Surgical/Operating Room Technician, Surgical Technology SRGT 1505 , SRGT 1409 , SRGT 1441 , SRGT 1442   20.00
 Vocational Nursing VNSG 1230 , VNSG 1234 , VNSG 1323   10.00
 Vocational Nursing VNSG 1509   15.00
 Vocational Nursing VNSG 1510   24.00
 Welding, each course  24.00

Additional Fees for Certain Courses or Services
Additional fees charged by outside agencies may be passed on to the student.

 Agriculture AGRI 2301 , AGRI 2303   15.00
 Athletic Trainer Liability Insurance (per semester)* SEE KINESIOLOGY  
 Business POFT 1325   10.00
 Business ACNT 1313   20.00
 Certified Nurse’s Aide (CNA) Retest Fee  75.00
 Child and Family Development Liability Insurance (per course) CDEC 2386 , GERS 2360   10.00
 CLEP Examinations  80.00
 Clinical/Practicum or Courses that have a clinical or practicum  15.00
 Cosmetology Liability Insurance (per semester)  10.00
 Criminal Justice Liability Insurance (per course) CJSA 2388   10.00
 Dental Hygiene Liability Insurance (per semester)  10.00
 Dental Hygiene Clinical Fee (per semester)  15.00
 Dental Hygiene Board Review Fee, per course (DHYG 2361 , DHYG 2362 )  200.00
 Dental Hygiene Clinical Rotation Tracking Fee (DHYG 1331 )  75.00
 Dental Hygiene ADHA dues, (optional)  65.00
 Dental Hygiene CES Online review, per course (DHYG 1331 , DHYG 1261 , DHYG 2361 , DHYG 2362 )  25.00
 Emergency Medical Technology Clinical Fee (per semester)  15.00
 Emergency Medical Technology Liability Insurance (per semester)  32.50
 Emergency Medical Technology Ride Out Fee (EMSP 1160 ) San Angelo students  10.00
 Emergency Medical Technology Ride Out Fee (EMSP 1161 ) San Angelo students  15.00
 Emergency Medical Technology Testing fee (EMSP 1501 )  20.00
 Emergency Medical Technology Planner Tracking Fee (EMSP 1501 )  25.00
 Emergency Medical Technology Testing Fee (EMSP 1438 )  40.00
 Emergency Medical Technology Planner Tracking Fee (EMSP 1438 )  60.00
 GED Testing  80.00
 Health Information Technology Liability Insurance (per course) HITT 2260 , HITT 2261   10.00
 Health Information Technology Clinical Fee (per course) HITT 2260 , HITT 2261 ;  15.00
 Interpreter Training SLNG 1321   10.00
 Kinesiology/Physical Education (Lamesa campus) PHED 1104 , PHED 1124 , PHED 2104 , PHED 2124   10.00
 Kinesiology/Trainer Liability Insurance (per course) 1101, 1102, 2101, 2102  10.00
 Laundry Fee (for students living in on-campus housing)  25.00
 Medical Assistant Liability Insurance (per semester)  10.00
 Medical Assistant Clinical Fee (per semester)  15.00
 Music or Private Instruction Fee, all individual instruction one-hour courses  80.00
 Music or Private Instruction Fee, all individual instruction two-hour courses 130.00
 New Student Orientation (SWCID)  300.00
 Nursing (ADN) Liability Insurance (per semester)  10.00
 Nursing (ADN) Testing Fees RNSG 1309         95.00
 Nursing (ADN) RNSG 1343  70.00
 Nursing (ADN) RNSG 2201 , RNSG 2308 , RNSG 2213 , RNSG 2432   70.00
 Nursing (ADN) RNSG 2307   95.00
 Nursing (ADN) Lab Simulation Fee (per semester)  15.00
 Nursing (ADN) TNSA-NSNA membership (optional)  20.00
 Nursing (ADN) NLCLEX (per course) RNSG 2432   349.00
 Nursing (LVN) Liability Insurance (per semester)  10.00
 Nursing (LVN) Clinical Fee (per semester)  15.00
 Nursing (LVN) Testing Fee (Fall semester)  30.00
 Nursing (LVN) Testing Fee (Spring semester)  35.00
 Nursing (LVN) VN Review (per course) - VNSG 1510   145.00
 Nursing (LVN) VNSG 1230 , VNSG 1234 , VNSG 1323  Syllabus Fee  10.00
 Nursing (LVN) VNSG 1509  Syllabus Fee  10.00
 Nursing (LVN) VNSG 1510  Syllabus Fee  10.00
 Nursing (LVN) VNSG 2461  Exit Exam Fee  45.00
 Physical Education bowling classes/Facility Fee  25.00
 Physical Education, San Angelo/Facility Fee  25.00
 Radiologic Technology Liability Insurance (per semester)  10.00
 Radiologic Technology Clinical Fee RADR 1260   15.00
 Radiologic Technology Practicum Fee RADR 1167 , RADR 1266 , RADR 2366 , RADR 2367   15.00
 Radiologic Technology Simulated Registry Exam Testing Fee RADR 2366 , RADR 2367   18.00
 Radiologic Technology Radiation Monitoring Badge RADR 1260   55.00
 Radiologic Technology Radiation Monitoring Badge RADR 1266   63.00
 Radiologic Technology Radiation Monitoring Badge RADR 2366   45.00
 Radiologic Technology Radiation Monitoring Badge RADR 2367   36.00
 Radiologic Technology Radiation Monitoring Badge Replacement
for Fetal Monitoring (as needed)
 current
price plus
expedited
s/h
 Radiologic Technology Simulated On-line Review Course RADR 2335   80.00
 Respiratory Care Liability Insurance (per course) RSPT 1160 , RSPT 1266 , RSPT 2166 , 2260, RSPT 2266 , RSPT 2267   10.00
 Respiratory Care Practicum Fee (per course) RSPT 1266 , RSPT 2166 , RSPT 2266 , RSPT 2267   15.00
 Respiratory Care Clinical Fee (per course) RSPT 1160 , RSPT 2160   15.00
 Respiratory Care Kit RSPT 1101   80.00
 Respiratory Care Persing Review Course Fee RSPT 2166   150.00
 Respiratory Care NRP Course Fee RSPT 2353   40.00
 Respiratory Care Secure RRT Exam, RSPT 2230   40.00
 Respiratory Care Online Exam Prep, RSPT 2230   95.00
 Surgical Technology Liability Insurance SRGT 2461 , SRGT 2562   10.00
 Surgical Technology Clinical Fee SRGT 2461 , SRGT 2562   15.00
 Surgical Technology Exit Exam (CST and SAE) Fee SRGT 2562   277.00
 TEAS Test  50.00
 Virtual College of Texas (VCT) Course Fee  50.00

Student Refund Policy

Students who officially drop a course(s) or withdraw from the college shall have their tuition and mandatory fees refunded according to the following schedule:

Fall and Spring Semesters

 Prior to the first day of the semester* 100%
 During the first five class days 70%
 During the sixteenth through twentieth class days 25%
 After the twentieth class day NONE

Summer Sessions

 Prior to the first day of the semester* 100%
 During the first five class days 70%
 During the sixth and seventh class days 25%
 After the seventh class day NONE

 Flex Entry and Non-Semester Length Courses**

  Prior to the first class day*  100%
  After first day of class, see the following schedule: 
 Length of term
(# of weeks)
 Last day for
70% refund
 Last day for
25% refund
 2 or less  2 n/a
 3  3  4
 4  4  5
 5  5  6
 6  5  7
 7  7  9
 8  8  10
 9  9  11
 10  9  12
 11  10  14
 12  12  15
 13  13  16
 14  13  17
 15  14  19
 16 or longer  15  20

*The first class day is the official first day of class of the semester. Class days are based on the college calendar.
**Courses with a census date other than the twelfth class day (fourth class day for a six-week summer term) (Includes Cosmetology).

Open Entry Classes (Adult Vocational Classes and Continuing Education Classes)

Prior to the first scheduled class meeting 100%
If class is canceled by the college 100%
For a course meeting fewer than three times, no refunds except prior to first scheduled class meeting.  
For a course meeting three or more times, after the first class meeting and prior to the second 70%
None thereafter.  

General Financial Information

Special Courses
The college reserves the right to set appropriate fees and special tuition for any special courses that may be offered after publication of this catalog.

Financial Obligations
Students cannot receive an official transcript from Howard College/SWCID until they have discharged all financial obligations to the college. Registration is not complete until all accounts for the semester are paid and/or proper financial arrangements are made. Unpaid financial obligations may result in dismissal from the college. Students with outstanding financial obligations to the college will not be allowed to re-enroll until these obligations are cleared. Students who have outstanding financial obligations to the college may be allowed to enroll for workforce training and continuing education classes when these classes are required by and/or paid for by an employer or third party. In these cases, transcripts will not be issued to the student; however evidence of completion of the course will be provided to the employer. Unpaid balances may result in referral for collection and the student will be responsible for all collection costs incurred.

Registration
A period will be set aside each term or semester to permit students to register. All tuition and fees will be paid at this time. It is the responsibility of a student on financial aid and/or scholarship(s) to confirm with the Business Office that all tuition and fees are paid.

Late Registration
A late registration charge of $10.00 is required of all students enrolling after the regular announced day or days to register. This fee is also required if a student enrolls, completely withdraws from all classes, and then initiates another class enrollment. This fee is charged even if this situation occurs within the same day. This charge will be incurred by students who register in person or on-line.

Course Change
A fee of $10.00 is charged for each course change. This fee will not be charged to any student who changes their courses through the on-line system.

Admittance to Class
Students will not be allowed to attend classes until all tuition and fees have been paid.

Bookstore Refunds
Bookstore refunds will adhere to the posted policy provided by the bookstore contractor.

Check Identification Requirement
Personal checks written to Howard College/SWCID will have the issuer’s date of birth and/or valid driver’s license number written on the check. If the student prefers not to have the date of birth or driver’s license number written on the check, the student must pay with cash, cashier’s check, money order, or credit/debit card.

Returned Checks
A processing fee will be assessed any person who writes a check to the college that will not clear the bank for any reason other than bank error. The fee will be equal to that charged by the county attorney’s office for returned checks. A hold will be placed on all records until the financial obligation to the college is cleared. The issuer of the check will be notified in writing of the insufficient status. Failure to comply within the specified time limit will result in the check being turned over to the appropriate outside agency for collection and additional fees may be incurred. The college will not accept checks from anyone who has had more than two returned checks.

Installment Payment Plan
Howard College/SWCID offers installment contracts for the payment of tuition/fees for Fall and Spring semesters.

  • The plan is offered through Nelnet Business Solutions and must be executed on-line.
  • One-half of the tuition and fees must be paid before the start of the semester with two equal payments remaining.
  • An enrollment fee of $25.00 will be charged per agreement period (semester).
  • A student who fails to make full payment of tuition and fees, including any incidental fees, by the due date may be prohibited from registering for future classes until full payment is made.
  • A student who fails to make payment before the end of the semester will not be issued a transcript or grade report until full payment is made.
  • If the account is submitted for collection, the cost of collection will be the student’s responsibility.

Residence Hall Cost

Howard College

Listed below are the current charges and installment amounts. Room and Board charges are subject to change without notice.

Refundable room deposit
$100.00 is due at time of application for all students. Students will not be assigned a room until the Dean of Students Office has received the deposit and the housing application.

Room/Board Charges for Howard College

 Fall and Spring Semester Room Charge (per student) $650.00
 Summer Term Room Charge $250.00
 Mini Term Room Charge $150.00
 Board Charge (not available during summer)
 Tax on Board Charge
$1330.00
$109.73
 Total Room and Board Charge (fall and spring semesters) $2089.73

Laundry Fee
A $25 laundry fee will be charged to all students living in on-campus housing.

Private Room Charge
Private rooms are an additional $650 per semester and are subject to availability. This fee must be paid in full when the resident accepts the private room assignment and cannot be prorated. The Quads in Turner Hall are not available for single occupancy.

Installment Plan
(Includes $25 Laundry Fee)

 1st payment  Due at Registration or move-in (whichever comes first)  $1057.37
 2nd payment  Due dates included on installment contract  $528.68
 3rd payment  Due dates included on installment contract  $528.68

Financial Aid/Scholarship Recipients
Room/Board payments due at Registration. Financial aid and/or scholarship funds can be applied.

No-Financial Aid/Scholarship Recipients
Room/Board payments due upon moving into Residence Halls or at Registration, whichever comes first.

Withdrawal
The residence hall cost includes room rent and meals. No refunds will be made for the room rent portion of the cost. The meal portion of the cost will be refunded based on the amount paid to date and on the remaining days left in the semester. Refund of the reservation deposit will be awarded under the following conditions:

  1. The reservation is canceled before July 15 for the fall semester, December 15 for the spring semester, and May 1 for the mini and summer semesters.
  2. The resident involuntarily withdraws from the college for reasons of health or circumstances beyond his/her control.
  3. The resident officially checks out of the residence hall with the Residence Hall Supervisors.

Any damage or shortage at the time the resident vacates the residence hall will be deducted from the deposit. To obtain the deposit, the student must contact the Dean of Students Office.

SWCID
Listed below are the current charges and installment amounts for SWCID. Room and Board charges are subject to change without notice.

Refundable Room Deposit
$100.00 is due at time of application for all students. Students will not be assigned a room until the Dean of Student Affairs Office has received the deposit and the housing application.

Room and Board Cost - SWCID

 Fall and Spring Semester Room Charge (per student) $650.00
 Summer Term Room Charge $250.00
 Mini Term Room Charge $150.00
 Board Charge (not available during summer)
 Tax on Board Charge
$1615.00
$133.24
 Total Room and Board Charge (fall and spring semesters) $2398.24

Laundry Fee
A $25 laundry fee will be charged to all students living in on-campus housing.

The housing cost includes telephone, TV, computer, and cable service hookups. For those students wishing to have a private room, if available, an additional $650.00 will be assessed. The board plan is a 7-day program for meals as follows: Monday through Friday – Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner; Saturday and Sunday – Brunch and Dinner. Cost of board is subject to change due to fluctuating food costs.

For those students wishing to pay board in installments, approval must be received from the Business Office or the Dean of Student Affairs. Board may be paid in as many as three installments.

Installment Plan
(Includes $25 Laundry Fee)

 1st payment  Due at registration or move-in (whichever comes first) $1211.62
 2nd payment  Due dates included on installment contract $605.81
 3rd payment  Due dates included on installment contract $605.81

Meal tickets will not be issued until financial arrangements have been made with the Business Office or the Dean of Student Affairs. Payment is due in full at Registration.

SWCID Annex Apartments
Family apartments are available for married couples (with or without children), single parents with children, students with special/unique needs, or college employees in some special circumstances . Room cost is $525.00 each month/$2,100.00 for the semester to live in a SWCID apartment. The college will assume responsibility for payment of utilities except for long distance telephone service and any supplemental cable other than basic services the college already provides in the other dorm rooms.

Occupants may choose or not choose to participate in the meal plan. It makes no difference whether one or both of the persons that make up the married couple are SWCID students, the rent cost will remain the same.

Students, who would otherwise not qualify, may be placed in the apartments due to lack of space availability in the residence halls. Students will be charged the current dorm rate in this situation, regardless of the number of students sharing the apartment. Students in this situation will be required to participate in the meal plan. When space is available, they may be relocated to the residence halls.

Foundation Park
Four manufactured homes are available for individual students based on certain criteria, married couples (with or without children), and/or single parents with children. Individual students are required to complete an application/selection process and receive approval to live in these homes. Each manufactured home can hold up to 6 students (2 students per bed room). Room cost for each approved individual student is $650 per semester. Room cost for married couples (with or without children) and single parents with children is $875 per month/$3,500 for the semester. The college will assume responsibility for payment of utilities except for long distance telephone service and any supplemental cable other than basic services the college already provides in the residence halls and annex apartments. The meal plan is required for individual students living in the manufactured homes but is optional for married couples and parents with children.

Students, who would otherwise not qualify, may be placed in the manufactured homes due to lack of space availability in the residence halls. When space is available, they may be relocated to the residence halls.

Withdrawal
The residence hall cost includes room rent and meals. No refunds will be made for the room rent portion of the cost: $650 for the rooms in the residence halls. The meal portion of the cost will be refunded based on the amount paid to date and on the remaining days left in the semester. Refund of the reservation deposit ($100) will be awarded under the following conditions:

  • The reservation is canceled before July 15 for the fall semester and December 15 for the spring semester.
  • The resident involuntarily withdraws from the college for reasons of health or circumstances beyond his/her control.
  • The resident officially checks out of the residence hall with the approval of the Residence Hall supervisors.

Any damage or shortage at the time the resident vacates the residence hall will be deducted from the deposit. To obtain the deposit, the student must contact the Dean of Students Office.

Under federal law, students attending Howard College/SWCID who receive Title IV (Pell, SEOG, Direct Loan) and completely withdraw before the 60 percent point (in time) in the period of enrollment will be required to return any unearned funds. Unearned Title IV funds is the percentage of term not attended times the Title IV aid. In some instances, the student may owe both the federal government and the school. Students owing either the federal government or the school will be ineligible for any further federal aid until funds are repaid.